Which Countries Can Enter Turkey without a Visa

Even though the Turkish visa policy may seem complicated, the Government of Turkey still offers visa-free entry to citizens of certain countries.

But even in the case of a visa-free entry, the requirements, as well as the length of the permitted stay differs based on the traveller’s nationality.

Visa-free entry to Turkey

The following countries can enter Turkey without a visa:

  • European Union countries
  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Argentina
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belize
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil
  • Brunei
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Georgia
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Macao
  • Malaysia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Morocco
  • New Zealand
  • Nicaragua
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Qatar
  • Russia
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Switzerland
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Ukraine
  • the United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vatican City
  • Venezuela

The length of the maximum visa-free stay in Turkey differs for different nationalities and can be either 30, 60, or 90 days.

Which Countries Can Enter Turkey without Visa
Which Countries Can Enter Turkey without a Visa

Conditional visa-free access

The Turkey Government allows the following three countries to enter Turkey on a visa-free basis as long as they meet a few additional requirements specific to their country:

  • Algeria
  • Cyprus
  • Libya

Travellers from Algeria who wish to visit Turkey must be either under 15 or over 65 to able to travel visa-free.

Travellers from Cyprus must:

  • Reside in Northern Cyprus
  • Depart from the Ercan International Airport in Northern Cyprus
  • Or depart from any of the following seaports: Famagusta, Gemikonağı, Kyrenia.

Travellers departing from Libya must be under the age of 16 or over 55 to travel to Turkey without a visa.

Who does the visa requirement apply to
Conditional visa-free to Turkey

New visa-free agreement signed with Turkey

Turkey has recently signed a new visa-free agreement with the Maldives following the Turkish Foreign Minister’s visit to the Maldives.

This means that travellers from the Maldives will soon be able to visit Turkey on a visa-free basis.

Turkey eVisa system

E-Visa and Visa Requirement
Turkey eVisa system

Besides its visa-free policy, Turkey also offers one additional effortless type of entry to the country, and that is its eVisa system.

Dozens of countries are eligible for the Turkey eVisa that can be easily obtained online following a quick and intuitive application process.

Applying for the Turkey eVisa takes minutes while the approved document reaches travellers via email within a maximum of 72 hours.

If your nationality does not make you eligible for the visa-free entry to Turkey, check if you can apply for the Turkey eVisa to still enjoy your visit to Turkey in the easiest way possible.

You can submit your application for the electronic Turkey visa using any working device connected to the internet. The approved document will be delivered straight to your email inbox in PDF form.

Turkey eVisa holders can use their electronic travel authorization documents to visit Turkey for leisure, business, or transit purposes, including making visits to friends and family residing in Turkey, attending events, conferences, and trade fairs, going on vacation, taking a layover in Turkey, and so much more!